Turkey refuses to accept Russia’s “four-state annexation”

ISTANBUL – Turkey’s foreign ministry said in a statement on September 30 that it would not tolerate Russia’s annexation of four eastern and southern regions of Ukraine, calling it a “grave violation of the principles of international law.”

A statement from four eastern and southern Ukraine states pointed out that Turkey “does not recognize Russia’s annexation of the Crimean Peninsula based on an illegal 2014 referendum.” He said he is a strong supporter of Ukraine’s territorial integrity and sovereignty and would likewise oppose it.